RefreshCapcha

Author Topic: New Broadband installed.  (Read 10852 times)

Offline chelseaman

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 261
  • Karma: +102/-0
    • View Profile
New Broadband installed.
« on: March 03, 2010, 08:09:47 am »
Having some fun. Had Virginmedia  50Mb broadband installed today. With a straight ethernet cable connection to this PC it ran at 49.5 to 51.7 Mb`s. But me being the perfect gentleman  hooked it into a dlink router (free from Virgin) to give the family wireless connections. BooHoo now I`m down to 42Mb`s. Upload speeds were not the greatest 1.7 to 1.8Mbps and my fingers cant quite catch up with the buttons.  Running this PC at 4.18GHz (stock 2.67GHz) The 2x 4890`s in crossfire also up.
All in all it is a nice experience for an older member. ;D
cheers
« Last Edit: March 04, 2010, 04:27:22 am by chelseaman »
MAN U eat your heart out.
CHELSEA is here to sort your problems

Offline billyfridge

  • Unstoppable
  • ******
  • Posts: 1853
  • Karma: +377/-1
    • View Profile
Re: New Broadband installed.
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2010, 08:53:33 am »
Hmmmm...i got virgin B/B, but the 10MB, I'm on XL, but they wantd to charge me for a router, so i bought one locally a netgear wireless. now i can acsess my new HD TV from my PC. I wanted a new HD set top box, but they wanted £50 and a further 18 month contract, i told them to stick it :D

Offline chelseaman

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 261
  • Karma: +102/-0
    • View Profile
Re: New Broadband installed.
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2010, 10:31:16 am »
 ;D They treat us better in N.I.  ;D

£35 to install,new modem,new router FREE.
Takes a little while to fire everything up, but it comes through in the end. and this is off the router. 12 month contract, but I can cancell up to 28 days.
cheers
« Last Edit: March 03, 2010, 10:35:29 am by chelseaman »
MAN U eat your heart out.
CHELSEA is here to sort your problems

Offline Synbios

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 671
  • Karma: +5153/-0
    • View Profile
Re: New Broadband installed.
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2010, 11:22:55 am »
in your original post when you said MB I thought you were referring to megabytes LOL, it should actually be Mb for megabits as your speedtest result shows.

That's too bad that your upload is so slow compared to that lovely download. Is paris the closest server for you? 550 miles is rather far and I'd imagine you could get better speeds elsewhere. Of course, speed test results are never perfect anyway.

Offline TheHalf™

  • The"better"Half™
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 726
  • Karma: +166/-0
  • Road Runner H.S.I. 30Mbps/5Mbps
    • View Profile
    • Bit Che
Re: New Broadband installed.
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2010, 09:09:07 pm »
Oh that's not to bad:



TheHalf™
« Last Edit: March 03, 2010, 09:11:43 pm by TheHalf™ »

Offline Synbios

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 671
  • Karma: +5153/-0
    • View Profile
Re: New Broadband installed.
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2010, 07:18:00 am »
My download is a little slower but looks like I still trump with the upload \o/

I'm going to get a SB6120 soon and DOCSIS 3.0 so my speeds should get much better with that. I'm currently running a SB5101 on DOCSIS 2.0

Offline TheHalf™

  • The"better"Half™
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 726
  • Karma: +166/-0
  • Road Runner H.S.I. 30Mbps/5Mbps
    • View Profile
    • Bit Che
Re: New Broadband installed.
« Reply #6 on: March 04, 2010, 07:07:09 pm »
Your uploads are very good, nice to see Comcast loosening their belt with that. RR is on the ball but only for customers in the NYC area; I'm just south of Niagara Falls.

TheHalf™

Offline Synbios

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 671
  • Karma: +5153/-0
    • View Profile
Re: New Broadband installed.
« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2010, 07:44:01 pm »
Your uploads are very good, nice to see Comcast loosening their belt with that. RR is on the ball but only for customers in the NYC area; I'm just south of Niagara Falls.

TheHalf™


Oh wow those are pretty good speeds for a boonie. My girlfriend is from upstate new york and her parents have the worst friggin cable connection ever. Their signal levels are on the verge of disconnecting because their driveway is like a mile long. mid-hudson cable haha

Offline TheHalf™

  • The"better"Half™
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 726
  • Karma: +166/-0
  • Road Runner H.S.I. 30Mbps/5Mbps
    • View Profile
    • Bit Che
Re: New Broadband installed.
« Reply #8 on: March 04, 2010, 07:58:34 pm »
You can go to the website of your modems manufacturer and test the specs and compare them to your ISP. I also use a Motorola SB5120. Click below:

http://broadband.motorola.com/consumers/support/default.asp?SupportSection=CableModems

TheHalf™

Offline chelseaman

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 261
  • Karma: +102/-0
    • View Profile
Re: New Broadband installed.
« Reply #9 on: March 06, 2010, 01:42:33 am »
Just ran another test .Have set pc specs to normal,no OC.



This was at 1600hrs GMT. on a saturday, seems that Virgin have started to pilot upload speeds in some area`s but for the moment 1.66Mb/s would be my max.
Most of the local Irish speed tests are not that great.
tks
« Last Edit: March 06, 2010, 01:44:28 am by chelseaman »
MAN U eat your heart out.
CHELSEA is here to sort your problems

timber

  • Guest
Re: New Broadband installed.
« Reply #10 on: July 20, 2012, 03:42:16 pm »
hi I test the speed of my internet in many sites I got the best and accurate speed results from this site http://www.ip-details.com/
my results are
download=1.04Kbps
upload=0.77Kbps.