RefreshCapcha

Author Topic: Be careful of what you download.  (Read 8280 times)

Petrena

Be careful of what you download.
« on: July 31, 2008, 11:35:17 pm »
I am really new to the world of downloading, and upto last week my computer had no problems, however, I tried to download the basic software to get me started and all hell broke loose on my computer, my computer seemed under constant attack, I had what I thought was good Norton Internet Security Software, and Spybot. The both of these programs were going crazy, as well as my browser not working, and the computer felt as if it was going back to the stone age it was that slow to respond. First of all I had a Generic 128 Virus, Then there was the Bloodhound Sonar, and then there was the real pain called Virtumondi which completely attacked my registry making life hell for me. Lucky for me I had good technical support and I watched and listened to what he did on my computer and where he got the software etc to combat what was on my computer. Even then I had to reformat my computer and start all over again, but not just once but 3 times, and it was through downloading this software. The viruses were getting past Norton, because they were Malware, Spybot was very much having trouble too because the Virtumondi virus is such a pain it hides itself in what seems to be normal programs and as for Internet Explorer everytime I opened it I ended up with problems. To cut a long story without the IT Support guy I certainly would not be on the internet now.  I do have other software which the IT guy found that was free on the internet, of which I will tell you about if you want me to, however I don't want to upset anyone, or tread on any toes, because I am still learning, but I feel what I am learning I am willing to share with others if that will help.