RefreshCapcha

Author Topic: Broadband speeds.  (Read 44566 times)

texasboy

  • Guest
Broadband speeds.
« on: November 23, 2008, 05:38:18 am »
Mine vary a lot from one tester to the other. Think most of them are rip offs,only trying to get you buy their advertised software. I can get only figures of 4-6 Mbs when I am on a site that is promoting  BT broadband. They do not like you to show them up. ;D.
Normally figures from 14-17 would be average,but did a little cleaning and defrag etc tonight and  found this one.


Only good until the next one.lol
cheers
« Last Edit: November 23, 2008, 05:40:27 am by texasboy »

Offline Quantum

  • Ascended One
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 782
  • Karma: +206/-0
  • Daniel Jackson is looking at you!
    • View Profile
Re: Broadband speeds.
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2008, 08:20:45 am »
What are your speeds advertised at? Mine is 16 Mbps so this isn't bad:



Given I had stuff downloading and uploading in the background and my computer busy computing primes.
Daniel: "This tastes like chicken."
Carter: "So what's wrong with it?"
Daniel: "It's macaroni and cheese."

texasboy

  • Guest
Re: Broadband speeds.
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2008, 08:43:28 am »
Great numbers quantum, I`ll try another test, but dont expect the same results. Will post in a minute.



Virgin gives me 20Mbps, so this is one of their good nights. They were to update speeds a while ago.
cheers
Will try Maidenhead which is much further away from me. Back shortly.


cheers

Lisbon Portugal.

.
Still respectable.
Even further away in Moscow.

Tried a few more to western USA, but dropped to avg 7,000kbps. Still downloaded updates from nvidia at 2.1-3Mbps.
nite
« Last Edit: November 23, 2008, 09:11:50 am by texasboy »

Offline Quantum

  • Ascended One
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 782
  • Karma: +206/-0
  • Daniel Jackson is looking at you!
    • View Profile
Re: Broadband speeds.
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2008, 10:01:09 am »
Still downloaded updates from nvidia at 2.1-3Mbps.
nite

Servers will limit the speed they let customers download or be at least share bandwidth between them. I don't find many single servers that will allow me to max out my speed connections, that's why torrenting can be very good when there are lots of healthy seeds.
Daniel: "This tastes like chicken."
Carter: "So what's wrong with it?"
Daniel: "It's macaroni and cheese."

Offline Bovski

  • Head Cider Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 661
  • Karma: +189/-0
  • High Five Me
    • View Profile
    • Warez The Index
Re: Broadband speeds.
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2008, 01:58:53 am »
This is one I did the other day



But as will retest for here :)



« Last Edit: November 24, 2008, 02:20:42 am by Bovski »

Offline chip!

  • Bad Ass
  • Administrator
  • Unstoppable
  • *****
  • Posts: 2301
  • Karma: +629/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Broadband speeds.
« Reply #5 on: November 24, 2008, 02:10:58 am »
lol :)

  -  https://convivea.com  -   And...  boom goes the dynamite.

Offline Bovski

  • Head Cider Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 661
  • Karma: +189/-0
  • High Five Me
    • View Profile
    • Warez The Index
Re: Broadband speeds.
« Reply #6 on: November 24, 2008, 02:21:59 am »
LOL chip you are supposed to go for the closest one not one half way round the world.

Would have done Houston TX but I can't connect seems to be a hole in the internet for me never have been able to connect to Houston.
« Last Edit: November 24, 2008, 02:41:26 am by Bovski »

Offline chip!

  • Bad Ass
  • Administrator
  • Unstoppable
  • *****
  • Posts: 2301
  • Karma: +629/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Broadband speeds.
« Reply #7 on: November 24, 2008, 02:39:05 am »
yeah i know :-\




you got one badass connection bov ;)
  -  https://convivea.com  -   And...  boom goes the dynamite.

texasboy

  • Guest
Re: Broadband speeds.
« Reply #8 on: November 24, 2008, 03:47:10 am »
 ;D Had me going there for a minute bovski. Telewest broadband is owned by Virginmedia. my ISP. And offering 20Mb broadband to households,your getting 114Mb downloads??. Did you pay for the booster.lol.(do you work for Virgin) Besides you were only pinging 50 miles away and I have to go 105 miles.
cheers
« Last Edit: November 24, 2008, 03:51:49 am by texasboy »

Offline Bovski

  • Head Cider Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 661
  • Karma: +189/-0
  • High Five Me
    • View Profile
    • Warez The Index
Re: Broadband speeds.
« Reply #9 on: November 24, 2008, 04:13:42 am »
I shit you not.

& as you can see Not all of my tests are 50Mi I tested Dublin ~200Mi

No I don't work for Virgin, I didn't pay for a boost. LOL

I thought it kind of strange that it's still coming up with telewest but Im not going to complain with connection speeds like that.
« Last Edit: November 24, 2008, 05:13:39 am by Bovski »

texasboy

  • Guest
Re: Broadband speeds.
« Reply #10 on: November 24, 2008, 04:57:33 am »
lol. Who is your ISP.? Siimply speaking, who do you pay for broadband?  Virgin are one of the highest rates for broadband speeds on fibre optics. They were talking a few months ago of upping speeds from 20Mb to 50Mb but that hasnt hit this shelf yet. So yer good at doctoring figures on graphics.lol.
cheers

Help Quantum. Am I being ripped off?
« Last Edit: November 24, 2008, 05:08:42 am by texasboy »

Offline Bovski

  • Head Cider Tester
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 661
  • Karma: +189/-0
  • High Five Me
    • View Profile
    • Warez The Index
Re: Broadband speeds.
« Reply #11 on: November 24, 2008, 05:13:16 am »
lol. Who is your ISP.? Siimply speaking, who do you pay for broadband?  Virgin are one of the highest rates for broadband speeds on fibre optics. They were talking a few months ago of upping speeds from 20Mb to 50Mb but that hasnt hit this shelf yet. So yer good at doctoring figures on graphics.lol.
cheers

LOL Pay.

I do have a copy of CS4 but don't have any idea how to upload the doctored pictures back up to www.speedtest.net right click on one of the images and select properties.

Help Quantum. Am I being ripped off?

Well your into the underground but just on the surface of it so yes you are being ripped off.
Or should I say not ripping others off as much as you could be.
« Last Edit: November 24, 2008, 05:17:45 am by Bovski »

texasboy

  • Guest
Re: Broadband speeds.
« Reply #12 on: November 24, 2008, 05:27:38 am »
 ;D Rotten Sod >:D
cheers
Could have used BT and their copper wires and  got 6Mb and expanded to 50Mb.lol
« Last Edit: November 24, 2008, 05:41:15 am by texasboy »

Offline Quantum

  • Ascended One
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 782
  • Karma: +206/-0
  • Daniel Jackson is looking at you!
    • View Profile
Re: Broadband speeds.
« Reply #13 on: November 24, 2008, 07:55:52 am »
;D Rotten Sod >:D
cheers
Could have used BT and their copper wires and  got 6Mb and expanded to 50Mb.lol

BT are actually looking at doing 50 Mb by doing fiber optics down to the end of the street and leaving copper for the rest, which would work and be a lot cheaper than replacing everything with fiber optics and being able to get 100 Mb.

Speed test save each result as a PNG image on their server, if the image is coming from speedtest then it's not doctored.
Daniel: "This tastes like chicken."
Carter: "So what's wrong with it?"
Daniel: "It's macaroni and cheese."

texasboy

  • Guest
Re: Broadband speeds.
« Reply #14 on: November 24, 2008, 08:44:37 am »
BT have stated that the cost of replacing their copper wire exchanges to fibre optic cables  may be prohibitive because of cost. But they will eventually have to spend the money to make this happen . Are they gonna dig up our streetrs again and compete with Virgin? Even a partial replacememt,as you suggest is not the answer.
cheers