Author Topic: Opera 11 discussion  (Read 2924 times)

Offline TheHalf™

  • The"better"Half™
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 726
  • Karma: +166/-0
  • Road Runner H.S.I. 30Mbps/5Mbps
    • View Profile
    • Bit Che
Opera 11 discussion
« on: February 09, 2011, 04:00:42 am »
Speaking of Opera (I use V10.63) anyone ever notice the danasoft sigs.? It indicates that my ISP is Jupiter Hosting Corporation and my ISP is roadrunner. Food for thought.

TheHalf™

Offline Synbios

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 672
  • Karma: +5152/-0
    • View Profile
Opera 11 discussion
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2011, 04:28:54 am »
I would recommend upgrading to opera 11 it is fantastic.

I haven't had any problem with the danasoft sigs, it correctly identifies my ISP usually. But I imagine it is a security feature that you have enabled because Jupiter Hosting Corporation sounds like a fallacy to me.

Offline anaklein

  • Newbie Member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Opera 11 discussion
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2011, 04:31:42 am »
v11 is the wery good plus it has some great extensions like lastpass

Offline TheHalf™

  • The"better"Half™
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 726
  • Karma: +166/-0
  • Road Runner H.S.I. 30Mbps/5Mbps
    • View Profile
    • Bit Che
Opera 11 discussion
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2011, 05:20:02 am »
Just messing around I engaged the turbo function with Opera and went to speedtest.net and look:

TheHalf™
« Last Edit: February 09, 2011, 05:24:25 am by TheHalf™ »

Offline Synbios

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 672
  • Karma: +5152/-0
    • View Profile
Opera 11 discussion
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2011, 06:29:02 am »
I don't recommend using the turbo function unless you are on spotty wifi or using dial-up. Turbo uses pre-fetched data, degrades image quality, and runs everything through a proxy. If you have a good pipe..like you do..then I wouldn't use it.

PS I split the discussion since it was getting side tracked. Tangents are encouraged these days though.  ;D

Offline TheHalf™

  • The"better"Half™
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 726
  • Karma: +166/-0
  • Road Runner H.S.I. 30Mbps/5Mbps
    • View Profile
    • Bit Che
Re: Opera 11 discussion
« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2011, 08:04:46 am »
I looked into that and the turbo function when engaged was fed through a proxy (like you posted) earlier with the danasoftsig. as of now it reads normal that I turned off turbo. I then ran a speedtest again and all is normal, image below.

Yea I was getting off topic Synbios, thankx for helping out.

TheHalf™


][URL=http://www.speedtest.net]

I don't recommend using the turbo function unless you are on spotty wifi or using dial-up. Turbo uses pre-fetched data, degrades image quality, and runs everything through a proxy. If you have a good pipe..like you do..then I wouldn't use it.

PS I split the discussion since it was getting side tracked. Tangents are encouraged these days though.  ;D

Offline Synbios

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 672
  • Karma: +5152/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Opera 11 discussion
« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2011, 11:28:43 am »
Wow those are excellent speeds especially for only 30/5 service!

My DOCSIS 3.0 modem just shipped so I'll have 60/5 soon though! I've had 30/5 for a while but I have never been able to benchmark beyond 30 with my DOCSIS 2.0 modem.

Offline timber

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Opera 11 discussion
« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2012, 08:25:02 pm »
hi if you are in need to test your internet speed then test it at http://www.scanmyspeed.com/ here they provide you good and accurate results.