Author Topic: Opera 11 discussion  (Read 2456 times)

February 09, 2011, 12:00:42 pm
Read 2456 times

TheHalf™

  • The"better"Half™
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Hero Member
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 725
  • Karma: +166/-0
  • Road Runner H.S.I. 30Mbps/5Mbps
    • View Profile
    • Bit Che
Speaking of Opera (I use V10.63) anyone ever notice the danasoft sigs.? It indicates that my ISP is Jupiter Hosting Corporation and my ISP is roadrunner. Food for thought.

TheHalf™

February 09, 2011, 12:28:54 pm
Reply #1

Synbios

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Hero Member
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 669
  • Karma: +5152/-0
    • View Profile
I would recommend upgrading to opera 11 it is fantastic.

I haven't had any problem with the danasoft sigs, it correctly identifies my ISP usually. But I imagine it is a security feature that you have enabled because Jupiter Hosting Corporation sounds like a fallacy to me.

February 09, 2011, 12:31:42 pm
Reply #2

anaklein

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Newbie Member
  • Posts: 28
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
v11 is the wery good plus it has some great extensions like lastpass

February 09, 2011, 01:20:02 pm
Reply #3

TheHalf™

  • The"better"Half™
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Hero Member
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 725
  • Karma: +166/-0
  • Road Runner H.S.I. 30Mbps/5Mbps
    • View Profile
    • Bit Che
Just messing around I engaged the turbo function with Opera and went to speedtest.net and look:

TheHalf™
« Last Edit: February 09, 2011, 01:24:25 pm by TheHalf™ »

February 09, 2011, 02:29:02 pm
Reply #4

Synbios

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Hero Member
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 669
  • Karma: +5152/-0
    • View Profile
I don't recommend using the turbo function unless you are on spotty wifi or using dial-up. Turbo uses pre-fetched data, degrades image quality, and runs everything through a proxy. If you have a good pipe..like you do..then I wouldn't use it.

PS I split the discussion since it was getting side tracked. Tangents are encouraged these days though.  ;D

February 09, 2011, 04:04:46 pm
Reply #5

TheHalf™

  • The"better"Half™
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Hero Member
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 725
  • Karma: +166/-0
  • Road Runner H.S.I. 30Mbps/5Mbps
    • View Profile
    • Bit Che
I looked into that and the turbo function when engaged was fed through a proxy (like you posted) earlier with the danasoftsig. as of now it reads normal that I turned off turbo. I then ran a speedtest again and all is normal, image below.

Yea I was getting off topic Synbios, thankx for helping out.

TheHalf™


][URL=http://www.speedtest.net]

I don't recommend using the turbo function unless you are on spotty wifi or using dial-up. Turbo uses pre-fetched data, degrades image quality, and runs everything through a proxy. If you have a good pipe..like you do..then I wouldn't use it.

PS I split the discussion since it was getting side tracked. Tangents are encouraged these days though.  ;D

February 09, 2011, 07:28:43 pm
Reply #6

Synbios

  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Hero Member
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 669
  • Karma: +5152/-0
    • View Profile
Wow those are excellent speeds especially for only 30/5 service!

My DOCSIS 3.0 modem just shipped so I'll have 60/5 soon though! I've had 30/5 for a while but I have never been able to benchmark beyond 30 with my DOCSIS 2.0 modem.

August 13, 2012, 03:25:02 am
Reply #7

timber

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Newbie
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
hi if you are in need to test your internet speed then test it at http://www.scanmyspeed.com/ here they provide you good and accurate results.