Author Topic: Is anybody connecting on Kazaa anymore?  (Read 8154 times)

montel

  • Guest
Is anybody connecting on Kazaa anymore?
« on: December 15, 2007, 01:41:32 pm »
All the nodes I find are counterfeit.  Somebody figured out how to kill Kazaa - create supernodes that connect but don't work.  Most of them that have hooked up with me are located in the UK.  I've experienced trouble starting last February - but only occasionally them.  But now, for me,  everything is completely shut down since early November.  How is it with you guys?  I'm wondering if other parts of the world don't have the problem.

Offline Synbios

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 671
  • Karma: +5153/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is anybody connecting on Kazaa anymore?
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2007, 07:01:33 pm »
I haven't used kazaa in years..

Offline TheNightWatchman

  • 24 Frames Per Second
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 721
  • Karma: +198/-1
  • Quaere verum
    • View Profile
Re: Is anybody connecting on Kazaa anymore?
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2007, 07:30:57 pm »
I think the RIAA finally shut them down.

Not worth using anyway imo, plenty of alternatives to that style of downloading

montel

  • Guest
Re: Is anybody connecting on Kazaa anymore?
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2007, 01:38:46 pm »
I haven't used kazaa in years..
That's not surprising - Kazaa is pretty old now.  But for me it's served me well for years - I like its simplicity.  Hi, Synbios, long time no see.
Tell me this: what about  ApexDC++?  I got my hands on a copy of that but haven't got it to work (there's a lot of controls and buttons and I think I probably didn't do something right.  Perhaps you or TheNightWatchman could suggest something that well still work for me?





Offline Synbios

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 671
  • Karma: +5153/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Is anybody connecting on Kazaa anymore?
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2007, 12:59:59 am »
well the thing about DC++ is that I find it is not very useful over the internet. When I was living on campus at college, it was exteremely useful when none of us had p2p over the internet.

Because of the nature of DC++ ( you can usually conenct to only one peer and it's based off of hubs), it's really not useful when using it on the internet because of how slow it is.

I think my favorite DC++ client was RevConnect. I can't remember now. I did find a client that allows you to connect to multiple peers, but it was still not very useful. DC++ is only good for networks.

montel

  • Guest
Re: Is anybody connecting on Kazaa anymore?
« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2007, 03:57:30 pm »
Thanks.  Yeah,  I can see it's slow. I'll work out something.

Offline TheNightWatchman

  • 24 Frames Per Second
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 721
  • Karma: +198/-1
  • Quaere verum
    • View Profile
Re: Is anybody connecting on Kazaa anymore?
« Reply #6 on: December 18, 2007, 07:32:43 pm »
I used Ares recently... but i just use torrents really.

If I just want one song - download the album but unselect all the songs but the single you want. It will download pretty fast too.

rob5150

  • Guest
Re: Is anybody connecting on Kazaa anymore?
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2008, 09:12:05 am »
i miss kazaa so much
i think kazaa was better than torrents
it seems so hard to find what you want now
kazaa had almost everything you searched for
I MISS YOU KAZAA PLEASE COME BACK
RIP

xSyn

  • Guest
Re: Is anybody connecting on Kazaa anymore?
« Reply #8 on: September 13, 2008, 04:24:10 pm »
Not to bring up old topics... but Kaaza... Has alternatives these days.. Suchs as.. Limewire and Frostwire, their both just as good as Kaaza. If you want to use a Peer2Peer program like Kaaza, Limewire/Frostwire would be your best bet.. Now that.. Kaaza is off the net.

Offline billyfridge

  • Unstoppable
  • ******
  • Posts: 1853
  • Karma: +377/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Is anybody connecting on Kazaa anymore?
« Reply #9 on: September 14, 2008, 12:58:23 am »
Err...excuse me...don't forget BitChe  :o