RefreshCapcha

Author Topic: Microsoft Windows Vista  (Read 7637 times)

Offline chip!

  • Bad Ass
  • Administrator
  • Unstoppable
  • *****
  • Posts: 2301
  • Karma: +629/-6
    • View Profile
Microsoft Windows Vista
« on: September 16, 2006, 09:30:31 am »
Microsoft Windows Vista RC1 is available for the public to test...

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsvista/getready/preview.mspx

I'm going to be installing this tonight.. I hear that it is awesome!
« Last Edit: September 16, 2006, 09:32:28 am by chip! »
  -  https://convivea.com  -   And...  boom goes the dynamite.

Offline Quantum

  • Ascended One
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 782
  • Karma: +206/-0
  • Daniel Jackson is looking at you!
    • View Profile
Re: Microsoft Windows Vista
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2006, 10:29:14 pm »
I'm still on build 5536 (Pre-RC1), I'm probabily going to be installing that one tonight (build 5600).

Pre-RC1 for the most part is very stable, I still have to go back to XP from time to time to mount ISOs and stuff like that, but I've got used to all the little features in Vista like searching start bar and computer not needing to restart after graphics drivers are installed it gets harder each time to go to XP.
Daniel: "This tastes like chicken."
Carter: "So what's wrong with it?"
Daniel: "It's macaroni and cheese."

weera

  • Guest
Re: Microsoft Windows Vista
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2006, 04:33:55 am »
I got the DVD installer from CHIP magazine Indonesia edition. I haven't install it yet coz I'm still affraid it will not run smoothly on my PC :)
 

Offline chip!

  • Bad Ass
  • Administrator
  • Unstoppable
  • *****
  • Posts: 2301
  • Karma: +629/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Microsoft Windows Vista
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2006, 08:57:04 am »
I'm running the installer for RC1 build 5600 now..  my laptop is Intel T7200 2.0 GHz Duo 2 Core (4mb L2 cache) w/ 512mb Ram (2gig upgrade arrives this week) w/ nvidia go 7200 128mb ram graphics card..   I'll let you know how smooth it runs with the 512mb ram.. and then again with the 2gb upgrade..

from what I was reading, the differences between the betas and the RC1 are huge and that RC1 is finally *worth* installing..

but at least now you have the option to install RC1 on a separate partition.. so if you want to try it out, you don't have to kill your main Windows installation..
  -  https://convivea.com  -   And...  boom goes the dynamite.

Offline chip!

  • Bad Ass
  • Administrator
  • Unstoppable
  • *****
  • Posts: 2301
  • Karma: +629/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Microsoft Windows Vista
« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2006, 10:26:34 am »
well, i was stupid enough not to test the MD5 of the .iso before I tried installing Vista.. I just wasted 2 hours trying to figure out what was wrong (the installation would get to like 30% then fail) until I finally decided to test the hash =/ oh well..


oh, i know they are free, but if anyone needs a key for RC1, just let me know.. i have several now that all can be activated on up to 10 pcs.
« Last Edit: September 17, 2006, 10:40:44 am by chip! »
  -  https://convivea.com  -   And...  boom goes the dynamite.

Offline Quantum

  • Ascended One
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 782
  • Karma: +206/-0
  • Daniel Jackson is looking at you!
    • View Profile
Re: Microsoft Windows Vista
« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2006, 10:40:12 am »
well, i was stupid enough not to test the MD5 of the .iso before I tried installing Vista.. I just wasted 2 hours trying to figure out what was wrong (the installation would get to like 30% then fail) until I finally decided to test the hash =/ oh well..

Oh erks! That happened on me once, also I got a fail from badly burning a DVD twice (though I do love that I can just mount the ISO in XP and then install Vista to a different drive).
Daniel: "This tastes like chicken."
Carter: "So what's wrong with it?"
Daniel: "It's macaroni and cheese."

Offline chip!

  • Bad Ass
  • Administrator
  • Unstoppable
  • *****
  • Posts: 2301
  • Karma: +629/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Microsoft Windows Vista
« Reply #6 on: September 17, 2006, 10:44:50 am »
Can I mount the image with Daemon Tools and install straight from the emulation? Or will there be a problem when rebooting and Vista is looking for its files?  I've just been extracting the .iso to a folder and running the setup from there...
  -  https://convivea.com  -   And...  boom goes the dynamite.

Offline chip!

  • Bad Ass
  • Administrator
  • Unstoppable
  • *****
  • Posts: 2301
  • Karma: +629/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Microsoft Windows Vista
« Reply #7 on: September 18, 2006, 03:47:56 am »
yes you can.. no probs =)

vista is beautiful
  -  https://convivea.com  -   And...  boom goes the dynamite.