Author Topic: How To Use "BC://" In A Browser  (Read 5025 times)

Offline MikeBoyd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
How To Use "BC://" In A Browser
« on: April 03, 2014, 11:52:31 pm »
I just noticed in Options / Preferences the option:

"Use BC:// and allow searches from Web Browsers"


I don't understand what this means.

Can someone give some more details please?

Thanks,

Mike.


Offline MikeBoyd

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: How To Use "BC://" In A Browser
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2014, 07:23:35 pm »
OK, never mind - found out by trial and error.

So, for those like me who always use the Search Box for searching... don't use that!

Use the Address Box (URL Box).

Even better, use "Research Word" add-on for Firefox and add an entry like this in your user preferences file "user.js"

/*
 *   19 Bit Che
 */
user_pref("extensions.researchword.menuitem19", "BC:// ");
user_pref("extensions.researchword.menuitem19label", "Bit Che");
user_pref("extensions.researchword.menuitem19s", "");
user_pref("extensions.researchword.menuitem19shortcut", "BC");


Offline chip!

  • Bad Ass
  • Administrator
  • Unstoppable
  • *****
  • Posts: 2301
  • Karma: +629/-6
    • View Profile
Re: How To Use "BC://" In A Browser
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2014, 03:33:21 am »
thanks for the tip Mike!
  -  https://convivea.com  -   And...  boom goes the dynamite.