RefreshCapcha

Author Topic: Bit Che on GNU/Linux  (Read 9860 times)

Offline Synbios

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 671
  • Karma: +5153/-0
    • View Profile
Bit Che on GNU/Linux
« on: November 15, 2014, 01:19:53 pm »
Hi all,

It has been quite some time since I've been around here. Recently I have found a need for Bit Che again, so I decided to stop by. I'm very glad to see everything is still running well and there has been an updated version of Bit Che.

I use Linux almost exclusively now so I used WINE to get it running and wanted to share my experience. It works almost flawlessly out of the box other than being able to save torrents directly from the application. For now, you have to follow the URL and then get the .torrent from the webpage. For diagnostic purposes this was Bit Che 3.0 build 10 with WINE 1.7.31 on openSUSE 13.1 x86-64.

I applied to be maintainer for Bit Che on the Wine HQ AppDB so check back here for future updates or for your own reports. I see chip has already done the honors of starting the page but looks like the latest tests are quite old:
https://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=application&iId=9707

If you use Bit Che on Linux please report your failures or success in this thread and/or on the AppDB page! Anyone can submit a report there and it helps everyone who is trying to use Bit Che on Linux!
« Last Edit: November 15, 2014, 01:21:28 pm by Synbios »

Offline chip!

  • Bad Ass
  • Administrator
  • Unstoppable
  • *****
  • Posts: 2301
  • Karma: +629/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Bit Che on GNU/Linux
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2014, 10:07:00 am »
LTNS Syn, hope all is well :)

might as well see what needs to be fixed for that setup... all my testing was with ubuntu.

1. whats the default torrent handler for the linux environment?

2. what happens when you try to save or open a torrent?  does it create a temporary file in the Wine environment, %appdata%\Convivea\Bit_Che\3\temp\ ?  (note, you must keep Bit Che running since will wipe that directory when restarting Bit Che).

3.  does View Torrent Details work? (and load the torrent details on the dialog?)

4.  if yes to 3,  then does 'Open Torrent' work from that dialog?  and by work, i mean does it open in your linux default handler?

5.  does Bit Che detect its in a Wine environment? it will say "  -  [wine]" in the status bar of Bit Che main window when starting it up.

there might be an easy regedit fix for the Wine environment to send the .torrent from Wine -> Linux environment, which I've had to do in the past.. but it was previously reported working on ubuntu. looking
forward to improving this.


EDIT::  I just took a look a the Bit Che code and for a Wine environment, it currently relys on 'winebrowser' to open the .torrent in your Linux environment. found here: http://wiki.winehq.org/winebrowser  that should come preinstalled with Wine. any idea if thats not working on your Wine config? off the top of my head im not sure how to test winebrowser.

EDIT2:: ill try to setup a openSUSE-13.2-DVD-x86_64.iso environment to test myself :)

thanks!

« Last Edit: November 16, 2014, 10:23:55 am by chip! »
  -  https://convivea.com  -   And...  boom goes the dynamite.

Offline chip!

  • Bad Ass
  • Administrator
  • Unstoppable
  • *****
  • Posts: 2301
  • Karma: +629/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Bit Che on GNU/Linux
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2014, 12:14:04 pm »
just to follow up.. i setup a brand new openSUSE-13.2-DVD-x86_64.iso environment,  installed Wine,  ran 'winecfg', and then launched the Bit Che installer..  and then I had to restart Bit Che once, but then it works out of the box for me. no other tweaks needed..  if i do 'Save As', I'm given the save box to choose where to put the .torrent.. if i do 'Open Torrent' it launches in openSUSE environment default 'KTorrent' torrent handler.   curious to know more about your setup vs a default setup.. ;)
  -  https://convivea.com  -   And...  boom goes the dynamite.

Offline Synbios

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 671
  • Karma: +5153/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Bit Che on GNU/Linux
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2014, 03:24:06 am »
Thanks so much for trying it out as well!

It might be my fault by not installing it in a fresh wine prefix. I will try it again tonight!

1. KTorrent
2. I have not checked this temp folder, I was looking for it but didn't know where it was. I will also check this.
3. View Torrent Details does indeed work
4. Open Torrent shows a progress bar and then nothing happens. I also tried Save Torrent As (I think the words were something along those lines) but it never gives me the folder selection window.
5. I will also check this.

edit: Played around with it a bit more. I install Bit Che to a fresh wine prefix so there is nothing else there. I did a "Save Torrent As" and it shows a status bar for a second and then disappears. Same thing, with no window to choose where to put the .torrent file. I also checked 'Application Data/Convivea/Bit_Che/3/', while I do see some files in there nothing that looks like a .torrent and no temp folder, only languages and scripts folder.

Bit Che status bar does not say [wine] next to it, just Bit Che. When I click Open Torrent With it says Synology, Trans. Remote GUI, and uTorrent Web. Any idea where it could be pulling those names from? I don't have any of those applications installed.

Probably the last thing for me to check is what you mentioned about winebrowser. I will have to look further into this.
« Last Edit: November 18, 2014, 08:39:12 am by Synbios »

Offline chip!

  • Bad Ass
  • Administrator
  • Unstoppable
  • *****
  • Posts: 2301
  • Karma: +629/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Bit Che on GNU/Linux
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2014, 01:51:30 pm »
interesting well the fact that it does not detect its in a wine environment is something i need to look into further, and likely the cause of the issue you are experiencing.

Also the open torrent with menu is created from the scripts folder\other, and is used for sending torrents to third party app via web submission. They can be disabled from the options dialogue.
  -  https://convivea.com  -   And...  boom goes the dynamite.

Offline chip!

  • Bad Ass
  • Administrator
  • Unstoppable
  • *****
  • Posts: 2301
  • Karma: +629/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Bit Che on GNU/Linux
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2014, 02:40:16 pm »
syn, can you try this attached build (3.0.15).. when you start up Bit Che in the bottom status bar, it should say "Bit Che 3.0 build 5 - Wine" and also when you go to the Preferences, that status bar should say "Wine detected."    If you get any error boxes when starting this one, can you let me know what they say?    this one is trying a different method for detecting Wine.
  -  https://convivea.com  -   And...  boom goes the dynamite.

Offline Synbios

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 671
  • Karma: +5153/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Bit Che on GNU/Linux
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2014, 07:09:26 am »
The wine detection works and overall this one works perfectly! The Save Torrent As works as expected.

Thanks!