Author Topic: Search Bit Che from FireFox and IE 7 search box  (Read 5486 times)

January 16, 2007, 10:15:12 pm
Read 5486 times

chip!

  • Bad Ass
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Unstoppable
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2160
  • Karma: +622/-5
    • View Profile
Here is an easy way to search Bit Che from your IE 7's search box in the top right corner...

Just import the attached .reg file into your registry, then restart IE 7 and select 'Bit Che' from your Search Providers list. Once you make a search, your browser will display a blank page since I can't find a way to get the Search Provider's box to directly use the BC:// search protocol.. so for the time being, we'll have to use a webpage I setup with a little java script that seems to do the trick! :)

example:
http://www.convivea.com/search/index.php?q=2007

« Last Edit: January 19, 2007, 06:11:23 pm by chip! »
  -  http://bitche.es  -   And...  boom goes the dynamite.

January 19, 2007, 06:13:15 pm
Reply #1

chip!

  • Bad Ass
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Unstoppable
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2160
  • Karma: +622/-5
    • View Profile
  -  http://bitche.es  -   And...  boom goes the dynamite.

February 08, 2007, 04:58:18 am
Reply #2

Huku

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile

February 19, 2007, 10:28:19 am
Reply #3

savaden

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Newbie Member
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Cant seem to d/l the FF search plugin. When I click on the link, I'm automatically thrown to the top of this page. That's all. Sounds cool, though, chip!

February 19, 2007, 12:27:18 pm
Reply #4

Quantum

  • Ascended One
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Hero Member
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 782
  • Karma: +206/-0
  • Daniel Jackson is looking at you!
    • View Profile
Cant seem to d/l the FF search plugin. When I click on the link, I'm automatically thrown to the top of this page. That's all. Sounds cool, though, chip!

You on Firefox 2 or above?
Daniel: "This tastes like chicken."
Carter: "So what's wrong with it?"
Daniel: "It's macaroni and cheese."

February 21, 2007, 04:11:11 pm
Reply #5

savaden

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Newbie Member
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Nope...1.5.0.9

Works only w/ FF 2 then, huh?


February 21, 2007, 04:15:08 pm
Reply #6

chip!

  • Bad Ass
  • *****
  • Information Offline
  • Unstoppable
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 2160
  • Karma: +622/-5
    • View Profile
yeah, (i think so).. and for FF 1.5 you need to manually copy over a .xml file..  (pretty sure, its been a while since i used FF 1.5)

ill make one after i go eat lunch..
  -  http://bitche.es  -   And...  boom goes the dynamite.

February 22, 2007, 04:51:37 pm
Reply #7

savaden

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Newbie Member
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
That's cool, chip. Just whenever you have the time. Thanks!

May 22, 2007, 01:10:10 pm
Reply #8

Thunderbrain

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
That's cool. Works fine on Firefox

May 23, 2007, 02:12:37 am
Reply #9

The IceMan

  • *
  • Information Offline
  • Newbie
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile