Author Topic: Search Bit Che from FireFox and IE 7 search box  (Read 5693 times)

Offline chip!

  • Bad Ass
  • Administrator
  • Unstoppable
  • *****
  • Posts: 2243
  • Karma: +624/-5
    • View Profile
Search Bit Che from FireFox and IE 7 search box
« on: January 16, 2007, 02:15:12 pm »
Here is an easy way to search Bit Che from your IE 7's search box in the top right corner...

Just import the attached .reg file into your registry, then restart IE 7 and select 'Bit Che' from your Search Providers list. Once you make a search, your browser will display a blank page since I can't find a way to get the Search Provider's box to directly use the BC:// search protocol.. so for the time being, we'll have to use a webpage I setup with a little java script that seems to do the trick! :)

example:
http://www.convivea.com/search/index.php?q=2007

« Last Edit: January 19, 2007, 10:11:23 am by chip! »
  -  http://bitche.es  -   And...  boom goes the dynamite.

Offline chip!

  • Bad Ass
  • Administrator
  • Unstoppable
  • *****
  • Posts: 2243
  • Karma: +624/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Search Bit Che from FireFox and IE 7 search box
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2007, 10:13:15 am »
FireFox version:





FireFox's version:

Install Bit Che Search Plugin
  -  http://bitche.es  -   And...  boom goes the dynamite.

Offline Huku

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Search Bit Che from FireFox and IE 7 search box
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2007, 08:58:18 pm »
Thanx a lot!

Offline savaden

  • Newbie Member
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Search Bit Che from FireFox and IE 7 search box
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2007, 02:28:19 am »
Cant seem to d/l the FF search plugin. When I click on the link, I'm automatically thrown to the top of this page. That's all. Sounds cool, though, chip!

Offline Quantum

  • Ascended One
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 782
  • Karma: +206/-0
  • Daniel Jackson is looking at you!
    • View Profile
Re: Search Bit Che from FireFox and IE 7 search box
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2007, 04:27:18 am »
Cant seem to d/l the FF search plugin. When I click on the link, I'm automatically thrown to the top of this page. That's all. Sounds cool, though, chip!

You on Firefox 2 or above?
Daniel: "This tastes like chicken."
Carter: "So what's wrong with it?"
Daniel: "It's macaroni and cheese."

Offline savaden

  • Newbie Member
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Search Bit Che from FireFox and IE 7 search box
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2007, 08:11:11 am »
Nope...1.5.0.9

Works only w/ FF 2 then, huh?


Offline chip!

  • Bad Ass
  • Administrator
  • Unstoppable
  • *****
  • Posts: 2243
  • Karma: +624/-5
    • View Profile
Re: Search Bit Che from FireFox and IE 7 search box
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2007, 08:15:08 am »
yeah, (i think so).. and for FF 1.5 you need to manually copy over a .xml file..  (pretty sure, its been a while since i used FF 1.5)

ill make one after i go eat lunch..
  -  http://bitche.es  -   And...  boom goes the dynamite.

Offline savaden

  • Newbie Member
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +7/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Search Bit Che from FireFox and IE 7 search box
« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2007, 08:51:37 am »
That's cool, chip. Just whenever you have the time. Thanks!

Offline Thunderbrain

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Search Bit Che from FireFox and IE 7 search box
« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2007, 06:10:10 am »
That's cool. Works fine on Firefox

Offline The IceMan

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Search Bit Che from FireFox and IE 7 search box
« Reply #9 on: May 22, 2007, 07:12:37 pm »
And what about Opera  :P