Author Topic: FAQ....Anti Virus stating Virus with Bit Che??  (Read 95677 times)

Offline peacefulguy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 224
  • Karma: +98/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FAQ....Antivirus stating Virus with BitChe "mh690"
« Reply #30 on: January 17, 2009, 08:06:25 am »
I have Bit che working with Nortons by adding it to the exceptions of Nortons, see attached pic.

Peacefulguy  :)

solidius212

  • Guest
Re: FAQ....Antivirus stating Virus with BitChe "mh690"
« Reply #31 on: January 17, 2009, 08:05:46 pm »
I have Bit che working with Nortons by adding it to the exceptions of Nortons, see attached pic.

Peacefulguy  :)


i think u may have solved it sir .Previously i was only adding the program to fireewall exceptions list now i have added it to the above aswell it seems to have worked .

Will keep you posted but this may be the fix that everyone needs .U must add to firewall exceptions and to program exceptions

MinLo

  • Guest
Re: FAQ....Antivirus stating Virus with BitChe "mh690"
« Reply #32 on: January 18, 2009, 12:12:08 pm »
I have Bit che working with Nortons by adding it to the exceptions of Nortons, see attached pic.

Peacefulguy  :)


i think u may have solved it sir .Previously i was only adding the program to fireewall exceptions list now i have added it to the above aswell it seems to have worked .

Will keep you posted but this may be the fix that everyone needs .U must add to firewall exceptions and to program exceptions

Hopefully Bit Che stays working for you because I'm still waiting for a response from Norton......
I figured they wouldn't get back til Tuesday or so.......So I guess we will see...... 8)

solidius212

  • Guest
Re: FAQ....Antivirus stating Virus with BitChe "mh690"
« Reply #33 on: January 19, 2009, 05:55:23 am »
i think if u do the above it will work i no longer see for symtec;s involvment

MinLo

  • Guest
Re: FAQ....Antivirus stating Virus with BitChe "mh690"
« Reply #34 on: January 19, 2009, 07:13:12 am »
UPDATE!!

Should be all fixed, I got this message today!:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
We are writing in relation to your submission through Symantec's on-line
False Positive Dispute Submission form for your Bit Che software version
1.0 being detected by Symantec Software. In light of further
investigation and analysis Symantec is happy to remove this detection
from within its products.

The updated detection will be distributed in the next set of virus
definitions, available daily, or weekly via LiveUpdate, depending on
Symantec product version, or daily from our website at

http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/defs.download.html.

Decisions made by Symantec are subject to change if alterations to the
Software are made over time or as classification criteria and/or the
policy employed by Symantec changes over time to address the evolving
landscape.

Sincerely,

Symantec Security Response
http://securityresponse.symantec.com
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So when ever Norton releases there next virus definition everything should run as it was........
Thanks for everybody's patience :)

ColimaSantiago

  • Guest
Re: FAQ....Antivirus stating Virus with BitChe "mh690"
« Reply #35 on: February 26, 2009, 05:52:16 am »
More recent comparisons of malware defense software:

PC Mag rates Norton Internet Security 2009 higher than any other malware defense suite (2-Feb-2009) http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2333448,00.asp
 
PCWorld rates Symantec Norton Internet Security 2009 higher than any other malware defense suite (22-Jan-2009) http://www.pcworld.com/article/158178/top_internet_security_suites.html

Mr. MinLo:

Here are just a few comments then I'll quit cluttering your forum:

[deleted text]

Like you, am no great fan of NAV but it seems that your assessment of it (“horrible”) is inconsistent with some well-respected authorities. ArsTechnica and AppScout rate it ahead of Kapersky and AVG and PCMag rates it ahead of those two and NOD32 as well. I’ve included some links to their evaluations, in case you’re interested. NAV is one of several that I use on various machines. It happened to be on the machine that I was runing Bit Che on.

[deleted text]

Cheers,
CS

http://arstechnica.com/news.ars/post/20070607-report-little-known-av-packages-outdo-those-of-symantec-mcafee-microsoft.html
http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2135092,00.asp
http://www.appscout.com/2007/06/antivirus_shootout_in_innsbruc.php




Offline chip!

  • Bad Ass
  • Administrator
  • Unstoppable
  • *****
  • Posts: 2301
  • Karma: +629/-6
    • View Profile
Re: FAQ....Antivirus stating Virus with BitChe "mh690"
« Reply #36 on: February 26, 2009, 03:50:36 pm »
In my opinion, Norton 2009 product line is the only acceptable version. All prior versions were serious bloatware. While the 2009 line is slimmer and uses less resources than prior versions, it still lacks top notch Virus detection rates that can be seen in other products. But it is a serious waste of time to debate just how well NAV performs. Bottom line, Norton 2009 is good, but not the best.

Here are some links that are useful when discussing antivirus effectiveness:

http://www.virusbtn.com/vb100/latest_comparative/index

http://www.av-comparatives.org/

Also, it is interesting to note that both PC Mag and PCWorld both have ignored AVG, NOD32, Avast, etc in their product tests. Clearly those "reviews" are biased and have very little merit. Also, the PCWorld must be a joke because they have ranked norton, bitdefender, panda, mcafee (LOL), avira over Kaspersky. IMHO, that is ridiculous.

ColimaSantiago, thanks for your input and continued support of my project. :)
« Last Edit: February 26, 2009, 03:53:44 pm by chip! »
  -  https://convivea.com  -   And...  boom goes the dynamite.

Offline chip!

  • Bad Ass
  • Administrator
  • Unstoppable
  • *****
  • Posts: 2301
  • Karma: +629/-6
    • View Profile
Re: FAQ....Antivirus stating Virus with BitChe "mh690"
« Reply #37 on: May 15, 2009, 07:56:23 am »
For those of you who are receiving the false positive message from Avast (or Gdata), please see the following thread/post:

http://convivea.com/forums/index.php?topic=1467.msg14118#msg14118

Thanks!
  -  https://convivea.com  -   And...  boom goes the dynamite.

superman

  • Guest
Re: FAQ....Antivirus stating Virus with BitChe "mh690"
« Reply #38 on: June 02, 2009, 06:07:24 am »
Thank you for your attention

MetaphorsBeWithYou

  • Guest
Re: FAQ....Antivirus stating Virus with BitChe "mh690"
« Reply #39 on: August 28, 2009, 11:58:53 pm »
I am running Windows 7 RC7100 and AM NOT RUNNING NAV OR ANY OTHER antivirus and am getting the "file damaged or infected by virus" error.  I have done about everything one can do as a user as far as research, cleaning, reinstalling.

Any new ideas?

zeusz4u

  • Guest
Re: FAQ....Antivirus stating Virus with BitChe "mh690"
« Reply #40 on: September 20, 2009, 07:53:19 pm »
My new antivirus program detects the script-update program of bit che infected :(

I'm using G Data Internet Security 2010... here is a  screenshot of the version of the antivirus software and signature database...

brindisi

  • Guest
Re: FAQ....Antivirus stating Virus with BitChe "mh690"
« Reply #41 on: September 29, 2009, 09:42:28 pm »
Uninstall Norton (since its one of the worst AV products).. and install a good one.. such as AVG, Kaspersky, NOD32.. maybe even Avast!

chip knows, what he's talking about - one of the worst EVER!

- even for Symantec Products.

It's a shame, how they buy out good names (and NORTON WAS one) and Products, spoil it and then sell that rubbish  >:(

I myself have also good expirience with AVG and NOD32, but changed recently back to AntiVir (freeav.de). Its free and the guard is faster on my old PIII machines ;-)

greetz

brin   O0

w4nne1980

  • Guest
Re: FAQ....Antivirus stating Virus with BitChe "mh690"
« Reply #42 on: January 06, 2010, 02:06:14 pm »
i love bit che it is a great little app but this morning when i tried to use it norton has removed it when i tried re install it tells me it has a suspicous mh690 heuristic virus


please help

UPDATE!!

Should be all fixed, I got this message today!:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
We are writing in relation to your submission through Symantec's on-line
False Positive Dispute Submission form for your Bit Che software version
1.0 being detected by Symantec Software. In light of further
investigation and analysis Symantec is happy to remove this detection
from within its products.

The updated detection will be distributed in the next set of virus
definitions, available daily, or weekly via LiveUpdate, depending on
Symantec product version, or daily from our website at

http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/defs.download.html.

Decisions made by Symantec are subject to change if alterations to the
Software are made over time or as classification criteria and/or the
policy employed by Symantec changes over time to address the evolving
landscape.

Sincerely,

Symantec Security Response
http://securityresponse.symantec.com
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So when ever Norton releases there next virus definition everything should run as it was........
Thanks for everybody's patience Smiley

Thankx MinLo
[url]]http:// O0 ;) :D ;D

Offline WarningU2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FAQ....Antivirus stating Virus with BitChe "mh690"
« Reply #43 on: April 09, 2010, 08:16:35 am »
Just another report

Vipre new Premium edition is reporting

c:\program files\bit che\languages\compare.exe as >> Trojan.Win32.Generic!BT

Risk name:   Trojan.Win32.Generic!BT
Source:      Active Protection
Quar date:   4/9/2010 6:10 PM
Risk level:   High
Risk category:   Trojan

Description:   Trojan is a general term for malicious software that is installed under false or deceptive pretenses or is installed without the user's full knowledge and consent. Most Trojans exhibit some form of malicious, hostile, or harmful functionality or behavior.

Advice:      This is a high risk and should be removed immediately as it may compromise your privacy and security, make dangerous changes to your computer's settings without your knowledge and consent, or severely degrade your computer's performance and stability.





I have submitted to sunbelt software as a false positive (I hope).


Offline 41purpose

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: FAQ....Antivirus stating Virus with BitChe "mh690"
« Reply #44 on: August 20, 2010, 10:52:29 am »
Just gonna weigh in on the whole A/V thing. I have only had experience with Norton(I hate),AVG(can't keep hands to it's self), and Bitdefender(like it but was to much IMO) so through the big names and some lesser knowns (although I have used Avira and Super Anti Apyware some) I finally worked my way down to a series of components rather then all the burden being on one program. While I'm sure there will be those who will try to "educate" me, and thats fine because we all have an opinion, I've been happy with Having Security Essentials as a real time guard, Spybot search and destroy for the tea timer and scanner, and Malware Bites as my main A/V scanner. I also run unhack me but I've found myself doing that less and less. This is all based on personal experience. I have had various issues with al but this setup and am 100% happy with it. As I try to format and reinstall at least twice a year, I don't mind taking a few chances to see what my security is capable of and this is where I'm staying. Security Essentials is probably gonna be the one to take the most heat just because it's Microsoft, but with experience,your may vary I guess, this beat other programs to the punch time and again in the realtime protection department. I don't use the A/V so I can't vouch for that, but the real time protection was nice. Hope this helps and doesn't make people fllame. Sorry it's so long, but I tend to do that when I type. Can't seem to keep it simple  :)